Sunday, September 19, 2010


The Fabulous Echoes were based in Hong Kong in the early 60′s. The early lineup of The Fabulous Echoes consisted of Tony Ruivivar (leader, guitar), Terry Lucido (keyboards), Stan Robertson (bass), Bert Sagum (vocals, percussions), Cliff Foenander (lead vocals) and Danny Ruivivar (drums, xylophone). Tony, Danny, Bert and Terry were from the Philippines. Cliff and Stan were from Ceylon (Sri Lanka) and Scotland respectively. Their first hit, “A little bit of soap”, stayed No. 1 for several weeks in H.K. in 1964. They secured a contract to play in Las Vegas and were later invited to appear in The Ed Sullivan Show. In 1968, they changed their name to Society of Seven and moved to Honolulu where they stayed. They have been a very successful act for over 30 years. In 2001, a second troupe by the name of Society of Seven LV was formed. This group alternates with the original, allowing the original group to perform outside Hawaii while they continue the engagement in Hawaii.

No comments:

Post a Comment